City of Mages

My priest is stuck in Dalaran.

No, not in the ‘running around in circles with nothing to do’ way – the ‘loading bar fills up and I’m instantly booted back to the login screen’ way.

Ah, Dalaran...

This isn’t exactly a rare occurrence, it’s happened before to me on several of my characters. Sometimes disabling my addons is enough to get the city to load so I can limp to the portals. There’s no point in hurrying – they take five minutes to show up.

A few times I ended up having to get a GM to move my character to a different city before I could log in, as even with addons disabled and cache cleared I’d get booted to the login screen.

From my own experiences and what I’ve heard from other players it seems that for those not blessed with super-fast internet and beastly computers Dalaran is a real pain in the butt. You’d think that Blizzard might have learned a lesson from Shattrath, a place that was the target of very similar complaints during the Burning Crusade. Fact is, cramming the entire population of max-level characters from both factions into one tiny city doesn’t seem like the best idea to me.

He seems sort of impressed...I can’t wait for Cataclysm when we all get herded back to our faction’s capital cities. Plus we’ll always be near the auction house, and we can show off our leet purples to the admiring lowbies hanging around.

Who wants to be stuck in a city with the stinky Horde Alliance anyway?

One Response

  1. A couple of players from my guild have reported the same thing… logging on to specific characters in Dalaran and immediately being booted. I’ve always experienced lag but never this particular bug, but I know it’s happened. (I’m fairly certain it doesn’t have anything to do with the cache/addons/etc., Blizzard mostly tells you to do that in case you royally messed something up. =D) Oh, and thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

